Germany 2008

Hot East

Potsdam and Berlin 25 - 27 July 2008
German coat of arms



After a long break I have been travelling again in good old Germany even if only for an extended weekend. I aimed at Potsdam in eastern Germany and it's just a stone's throw from there to Berlin. The castles and gardens of Potsdam and Berlin are a UNESCO world heritage site.
Blue sky and sunshine are any photographers delight but with temperatures above 30°C a sightseeing trip can easily turn into torture.



Berlin - Reichstag building
Many things have changed since my last visit to Berlin some 15 years ago. There is a new central train station, a new chancellery building and the Reichstag building got a beautiful glas dome. Unfortunately the latter one was closed for cleaning that day and so we could only admire it from the outside. Any sights of the Berlin wall that used to cross this area have completely vanished.
 
Berlin - Brandenburg Gate
Like the Reichstag building also the Brandenburg Gate is no longer as isolated as it used to be in GDR times. It remains to be a matter of taste whether the new layout of the Paris Square is liked or not. It's full of tourists anyway. Fake soldiers in uniforms of the victors armies model in unrealistic unity for the cameras of the delighted tourists.
Berlin - Holocaust Memorial
For sure you will not leave the Memorial to the murdered Jews of Europe unimpressesed. Whether this impression has something to do with the Shoah is a different story. On the other hand by talking about this controversial memorial and trying to find an interpretation the fact of the Shoah remains present - even if only as a side effect.
Berlin - Sony Center
Another place that is out of all recognition is Postdam Square. Once the busiest place of Eurpe it became deserted with the construction of the Berlin Wall. After the reunion it became the largest construction site of Europe and now Potsdam square resurrected and turned into a new quarter.
The various restaurants of the Sony Center offer a cross-section of German cuisine with meals at still reasonable prices. A welcome break after the already long march through the heat this morning. 15 stories higher the remarkable dome with its sun-sails overarches the three main buildings.
Potsdam - Dutch Quarter
Traces of the once cosmopolitan prussian past can be found everywhere in Potsdam. Among others Russians, French and Italians left their marks. Dutch Quarter is a harmonic ensemble of Dutch styled red brig buildings. Once it was supposed to attract Dutch craftsmen while nowadays the numerous small restaurants, pubs and small shops attrach tourists as well as locals.
Potsdam - Sanssouci
The world heritage site Sanssouci cannot be avoided in Potsdam. Even if the palace itself is rather small this is counterbalanced by the connected large park area with its many lovely buildings. For an extended excursion, however, I do recommend a day that is less hot, as the parc lacks any kind of restauration. You better bring your own refreshments.
Potsdam - Russian Colony
The Russian Colony Alexandrowka is a testimonial of the former good relations between Prussia and Russia. Fourteen wooden blockhouses surrounded by generous gardens have been build in 1827 for the remaining 12 members of a Russian soldiers choir. In addition they were given a cow when they moved in. A very nice area for a sunday afternoon walk.
Potsdam - Alexander-Newski-Church
Idyllicly located on the Kapellenberg and nicely renovated, the russian orthodox church can be found north of the colony. Of coure also during GDR times there was money available for the maintenance of such a symbol of German Russian friendship. As we came here on a Sunday morning there was a service held and as a matter of respect we abstained from visiting the interiour.
Potsdam - Cecilienhof Palace
The pretty but otherwise unimpressive Cecilienhof Palace build in English cottage style was the location for the Potsdam Conference on which the victors of the second world war decided over the future of Germany. The conference rooms can be visited and a multilingual audio guide offers interesting facts and stories. Nowadays the palace also hosts a hotel and a restaurant.
Potsdam - Neuer Garten
The parc area Neuer Garten ("new garden") is another element of the world heritage site of Potsdam. Although smaller than Sansoucci it is nevertheless worth visiting. On days as hot than this a bath in the Heiligen See ("holy lake") is a popular refreshment among the locals. Of course mainly in those areas where swimming is actually prohibited.




You are here:
ak-extra / travel / germany 2008
left fillerbackelementguestbookelementsend e-mailelementsitemapelementhomeright element




© 1999 - 2008 by Aléxandros Kiriazis
Falls Sie links keine Navigationsleiste sehen, klicken Sie bitte hier, um zur Startseite zu gelangen.

Deutschland 2008

Heißer Osten

Potsdam und Berlin 25 - 27 Juli 2008
Wappen von Deutschland



Nach langer Durststrecke war ich mal wieder in Deutschland touristisch unterwegs, wenn auch nur für ein verlängertes Wochenende. Potsdam hieß das eigentliche Ziel und da ist Berlin natürlich nicht weit.
Der Fotograf freut sich natürlich über blauen Himmel und strahlenden Sonnenschein. Bei Temperaturen von über 30°C, wie an diesem Wochenende, wird eine Besichtigungstour aber auch rasch anstrengend.



Berlin - Reichstag
Vieles, sehr vieles, hat sich in Berlin verändert, seit ich vor gut 15 Jahren das letzte mal dort verweilte. Es gibt einen neuen Hauptbahnhof, ein Bundeskanzleramt und der Reichstag hat eine schöne neue gläserne Kuppel bekommen. Leider war diese jedoch wegen Reinigungsarbeiten geschlossen und so blieb nur der enttäuschte Blick von außen.
 
Berlin - Brandenburger Tor
Auch das Brandenburger Tor steht nicht mehr so einsam und verlassen da, wie einst zu DDR Zeiten. Eine Geschmacksfrage bleibt, ob die neue Gestaltung des Pariser Platzes gefällt oder nicht. Der Klamauk mit den falschen Soldaten in Uniformen der Besatzungsmächte, die in friedlicher Eintracht mit den zahllosen Touristen vor dem Tor posieren, begeistert dieselben.
Berlin - Holocaust Mahnmal
Unbeeindruckt wird das Denkmal für die ermordern Juden in Europa wohl niemanden lassen, aber ob der Eindruck etwas mit der der Sache hat, steht auf einem anderen Blatt. Es wird wohl eher über das Mahnmal selbst diskutiert werden, als über die Shoah. Wie auch immer, es hält die Erinnerung wach und es wird über die Shoah gesprochen - wenn auch nur als Nebeneffekt.
Berlin - Sony Center
Ebenfalls nicht mehr wieder zu erkennen ist der Potsdamer Platz, das alte Herz von Berlin. Aus der größten Baustelle Europas ist ein neuer Stadtteil geworden, der sich noch zu beweisen hat. Sehen lassen kann er sich allemal. In den diversen Restaurants im Sony Center kann man zu noch akzeptablen Preisen essen und geboten wird dafür ein Querschnitt durch die deutsche Küche. Willkommene Erholungspause nach dem Marsch durch die Hitze. Über allem wölbt sich gut 15 Etagen höher die sehenswerte Kuppel mit ihren Sonnensegeln.
Potsdam - Holländisches Viertel
Spuren der einst weltoffenen preußischen Vergangenheit finden sich überall in Potsdam, so z.B. das Holländische Viertel. Harmonie in rotem Backstein mit vielen Gaststätten, Restaurants und kleinen Geschäften. Einst sollen holländische Handwerker angelockt werden, heute treffen sich hier Einheimische und Touristen gleichermaßen.
Potsdam - Schloss Sanssouci
Am Weltkulturerbe Sanssouci kommt man in Potsdam nicht vorbei. Auch wenn das eigentliche Schloss eher klein ist, der dazugehörige Park mit vielen weiteren sehenswerten Gebäuden ist umso größer. Für die ausgiebige Erkundung empfielt sich allerdings ein nicht so heißer Tag, da es an Restauration jeder Art im Park mangelt. Dennoch Pflichtprogramm.
Potsdam - Russische Kolonie
Die Russische Kolonie Alexandrowka ist Zeugnis der einstigen preußisch-russischen Freundschaft. Zwölf Holzhäuser umgeben von größzügigen Gärten, angelegt in 1827 für die letzten 12 Mitglieder einen russischen Soldatenchors, von denen jeder beim Einzug zu Haus und Hof auch noch eine Kuh geschenkt bekam. Internetseite der Kolonie
Potsdam - Alexander-Newski-Gedächtniskirche
Idyllisch auf dem Kapellenberg gelegen und hübsch restauriert liegt die russisch-orthodoxe Kirche im Norden der Kolonie. Naturlich gab es in der DDR für ein solches Symbol der deutsch russischen Freundschaft entsprechendes Geld. Da wir an einem Sonntag morgen dort waren, fand gerade ein Gottesdienst statt, daher haben wir aus Respekt auf die Besichtigung verzichtet.
Potsdam - Schloss Cecilienhof
Dieses hübsche aber ansonsten eher unscheinbare Schloss Cecilienhof im englischen Landhausstil, war Schauplatz der Potsdamer Konferenz, auf der die Siegermächte nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg über die Aufteilung Deutschlands entschieden. Die Räume in denen die Konferenz stattfand können besichtigt werden und ein Audioführer gibt informative Einblicke.
Potsdam - Neuer Garten
Das Parkgelände des Neuen Gartens ist ein weiteres Element des Weltkulturerbes in Potsdam. Wenn auch kleiner als Sansoucci, ist die Anlage mit ihren Bauten dennoch sehenswert. Und an Tagen mit Affenhitze bietet ein Bad im Heiligen See den Potsdamern eine erfrischede Abkühlung. Natürlich wird vorzugsweise an den Stellen gebadet, an denen es verboten ist.




Sie sind hier:
ak-extra / reise / deutschland 2008
linkes elementgästebuchelemente-mail sendenelementsitemapelementhomerechtes element




© 1999 - 2008 by Aléxandros Kiriazis
Falls Sie links keine Navigationsleiste sehen, klicken Sie bitte hier, um zur Startseite zu gelangen.